Raf le Rat Writes

My 4 letter .com that's worth nothing

Many, many years ago. Maybe it was around 20031. “Rate my” sites were all the rage. Rate my face, rate my professor, rate my poo. They ran the full gamut. There was so many of them I had the genius idea to create a single site that would just have loads of categories of things to rate! Then you wouldn’t have to visit these niched-down islands.

Like most of my hair brand ideas over the years, in hindsight this didn’t really make any sense. But that’s not what this story is about. It’s about r8my.com. “Rate my dot com”.

This silly little 4 letter domain holds so many feelings for me. Nostalgia, enthusiasm, ignorance, hope. It was the first domain I ever bought and at the time it seemed like a big deal. I’ve obviously done many more for other doomed to fail ideas. All beaming with similar feelings. The yearly renewals are a fun game of re-feeling and re-evaluating.

Even now while writing this I had the idea that maybe I should make a small site where you can rate people’s .com domains. Genius

I love my useless but seemingly special piece of the internet.

  1. whois says the reg date is 2006, but I recall my registrar just dropping it at some stage and having to re-register.